46.78 Feels Like 46.92
Partly Cloudy
Sunrise 7:18 am Sunset 5:13

1. Driver Education
The District hereby establishes driver education in the District as set forth in this policy, to help develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502(3) (2018)

2. Age for Written Testing
A District school offering driver education shall provide each enrolled student the opportunity to take the written test when the student is 15 years and 9 months of age. The school may permit an enrolled student to take the written test when the student is 15 years of age.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502(2) (2018)

3. Components of Driver Education
Driver education shall consist of both a classroom portion of instruction and a behind-the-wheel and observation portion of instruction. High school students will have 27 hours of classroom instruction and adults are required to have 18 hours. Practice driving instruction will include a minimum of 6 separate driving lessons on 6 different days. This allows for one hour of actual practice driving time per lesson in addition to a minimum of six hours observation.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502 (2018)

4. Classroom Training

4.1 The classroom-training portion of driver education will consist of instruction, in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education, which will take place in class instruction held at the school outside of regular school hours.

4.2 Sevier School District fully supports the State of Utah’s efforts for safe driving, i.e. Zero Fatalities. As part of the requirements for classroom training, parents and students are required to attend a safe driving meeting held at any Utah high school including high schools in Sevier School District.

Utah Code § 53G-10-508 (2018)
Utah Admin. Rules R277-746 (November 8, 2011)

5. Behind-the-Wheel Training
The behind-the-wheel and observation portion of driver education will be provided by the District in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education.
Utah Code § 53G-10-502 (2018)

6. Funding

6.1 Driver education in the District shall be solely funded through student fees and funds from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. However, for these purposes, the cost of driver education does not include the full-time equivalent cost of a teacher for each driver education class taught during regular school hours, or the cost of classroom space and maintenance.
Utah Code § 53G-10-503(1)(a) (2018)

6.2 The Board of Education will set the student fee required for participation in driver education in the District, which fee shall be determined by taking into consideration the costs associated with providing driver education which are not covered by reimbursements from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. Student fees shall also take into account costs which are not covered because of students obtaining a waiver of driver education fees.
Utah Code § 53G-10-503(7) (2018)

6.3 The District shall submit to the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, as required by the State Board of Education, all reports required to obtain reimbursement of driver education costs from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account.
Utah Code § 53G-10-505 (2018)

Approved: 06/16/16
Revised: 06/21/17